If you've been charged with assault in Colorado, you could face serious repercussions if you don't put up a fight. By hiring a skilled criminal defense attorney like William Beck, you protect your rights and interests and can avoid a serious criminal conviction.
In Colorado, assault is divided into three different classes: First degree, second degree, and third-degree assault. Third-degree assault is the least serious, while first-degree is the most serious. Each one covers different actions, and each carries different penalties.
Third Degree Assault
You could be charged with third-degree assault if you cause bodily injury knowingly or recklessly, or even negligently if you used a deadly weapon. This means that, if you used a deadly weapon, you could you could be charged with third-degree assault even if someone else only got hurt by accident.
Third-degree assault, also known as “simple assault,” is a Class 1 misdemeanor, but it has a sentencing enhancer. As a result, a conviction can carry between 6 and 24 months in jail, and a fine of $1,000 - $5,000, as well as two years of probation.
Second Degree Assault
A second-degree assault charge can come if you had a deadly weapon and you seriously hurt someone, either intentionally or recklessly. Additionally, you could also face a second-degree assault charge if you hurt an emergency responder while they're on the job, or if you unlawfully use a drug or other chemical substance to intentionally hurt someone.
Second-degree assault, also known as “aggravated assault,” is a Class 4 felony, which carries between 4 and 12 years in jail, along with a fine of between $2,000 and $500,000.
First Degree Assault
A first-degree assault charge is for the most serious kinds of assault in Colorado. These include intentionally disfiguring or dismembering someone, intentionally using a deadly weapon to seriously hurt someone, seriously hurting someone while knowingly acting in a way that risks death, or threatening an emergency responder with a deadly weapon.
First-degree assault is a Class 3 felony in Colorado. If convicted, you could face between 8 and 24 years in prison, as well as a fine of at least $3,000 and up to $750,000.
Domestic Violence Assault
If you commit assault on someone that you have an intimate relationship with, you could face charges for domestic violence, as well. These increase the penalties that you could face and carry other collateral consequences that could impact your life in other ways, too.
Colorado Springs Assault Attorney William Beck
Being arrested and charged with assault can be a life-altering experience. If convicted, your life could change forever as you struggle to overcome the numerous penalties the state throws at you. This is why it's so crucial to have a skilled criminal defense attorney at your side throughout the process.
Attorney William Beck fights for your rights and interests both in and out of court to ensure that you do not get abused by the criminal justice system. Contact his law office online or at 719-301-5979 for the legal representation you need.